Ethical Complaints Procedure

CCPA Procedures for Processing Inquiries and Complaints of  an

Ethical Nature

Approved by the CCPA Board of Directors on May 24, 2003
Revised by CCPA Board of Directors, November 27, 2004
Revised by CCPA Board of Directors, January 12, 2006
Revised by CCPA Board of Directors, November 4, 2007
Revised by CCPA Board of Directors, July 22, 2011

 

The purpose of this document is to facilitate the work of the Ethics Committee by specifying procedures for submitting and processing ethical complaints against members of the Canadian Counselling and Psychotherapy Association.

 

TABLE OF CONTENTS

A. The Ethics Committee

The Canadian Counselling and Psychotherapy Association (CCPA) promotes professional conduct practices that are consistent with its Code of Ethics and Standards of Practice for Counsellors[1]. Through its by-laws CCPA has established an Ethics Committee which is tasked with handling third party complaints in addition to responding to questions pertaining to ethical issues and standards of practice. 

B.  Procedures for Submitting Complaints

If someone is not satisfied with the practices or behaviour of a CCPA member they have the opportunity to submit a complaint to the Ethics Committee.  This committee will investigate, process, and where possible, resolve the complaint.  

The Ethics Committee will act only on complaints against members who were members of  CCPA at the time of the alleged violation.  Complaints may be made by a member of the public who has received counselling and psychotherapy services provided by a CCPA member; by a member of CCPA; or by the Ethics Committee itself. 

Whenever feasible, and appropriate, the complainant is encouraged to approach the counsellor directly to discuss and attempt to resolve the complaint. In cases where a resolution is not forthcoming following personal contact with the CCPA member, and/or personal contact is not feasible or inappropriate, the complainant shall prepare a written statement detailing the nature of the complaint.  The written statement must state the name of the member against whom a complaint is being laid, the attempts made to resolve the matter, and the specifics about the alleged unethical conduct [including the date(s) of the alleged violations(s)].  The written statement of complaint shall be marked “confidential” and be submitted to the Ethics Committee Chairperson at the following address:

CCPA Ethics Committee

Canadian Counselling and Psychotherapy Association

114-223 Colonnade Rd S

Ottawa, ON

K2E 7K3

The Ethics Committee may elect not to initiate the processing of a complaint while its subject matter is part of an ongoing legal investigation or proceeding. Should the Ethics Committee learn of an ongoing legal investigation or proceeding on a complaint, after initiating the processing of a complaint, it may elect to stay any further processing of the complaint until after the  investigation and, any related  proceeding, has concluded.

A complaint must be submitted within three (3) years of the event(s) which forms the substance of the complaint.  Complaints of an ongoing nature will not be processed unless submitted within three (3) years of the most recent allegation of impropriety.   In instances in which the subject matter of a complaint is part of an ongoing legal investigation or proceeding the timeline  for submitting a complaint will commence once the legal  investigation, and any related legal proceeding, has concluded.   

When the Chair of the Ethics Committee becomes aware that a member has been (1) convicted of an offence under the provisions of the Criminal Code or a similar penal statute of another country, or (2) has been suspended by a governing body of an occupational group in a province or territory of Canada or another country for reason of professional misconduct, conduct unbecoming of a member of the professional group or professional incompetence, this information shall be acted on by the Ethics Committee as if it were a complaint.

Once a complaint has been received, the Chairperson of the Ethics Committee will notify the complainant as to CCPA procedures for processing complaints and forward a copy of the written statement of the complainant to the member complained against. The Chairperson will notify other members of the Ethics Committee of the complaint within ten (10) business days after receiving it.

The substance of a complaint will be communicated to the fewest people necessary to implement the complaint procedures.  Subject to the disclosure requirements set out in these procedures, all documentation filed with the CCPA will be kept confidential.

C. Procedures for Processing Complaints

CCPA is not regulated by statute and therefore its procedures for processing complaints are not subject to the same administrative principles as those established pursuant to legislative powers. CCPA is, however, committed to following the procedures established herein and to ensuring that complaints are processed in a fair and equitable fashion that demonstrates regard for  the interests of all parties and the geographical and financial limitations involved.

Within ten (10) business days after receipt by the CCPA (National Office) the complaint, along with verification of membership for the member complained against, shall be sent to the Chairperson of the Ethics Committee.   The Chairperson will determine whether or not the complaint meets  criteria for processing.

If it is determined that the complaint does not meet  criteria for processing, the Chairperson shall dismiss the complaint and notify the complainant of the decision in writing. 

If it is determined that processing of the complaint is warranted, the Chairperson of the Ethics Committee shall:

  1. notify the complainant of this decision in writing and provide the complainant with a copy of the CCPA Procedures for Processing Complaints of Ethical Violations;
  2.  notify the member complained against of the complaint and request a written response to the complaint within thirty (30) calendar days; and
  3. notify members of the Ethics Committee of the case.

A member's response shall be in writing and signed by the member. The failure of a member to comply with a request by the Chairperson for a response may constitute conduct unbecoming a member and may be acted on by the Ethics Committee as a separate complaint

Within ninety (90) calendar days of receipt of the member’s response to the complaint, the Ethics Committee may exercise one or more of the following powers:

  1. refer the complaint back to the Chair of the Ethics Committee for investigation and alternative dispute resolution, subject to approval of the committee
  2. require the member complained against, and/or the complainant to take part in a teleconferenced meeting with the Ethics Committee in an attempt to reach a resolution to which both parties can agree 

When the Ethics Committee is of the opinion there are no reasonable grounds to believe the member has acted unethically, the committee shall dismiss the complaint and give notice in writing of the dismissal to the complainant and the member.   Subject to a successful appeal, in the event of a dismissal of a complaint all documentation filed with the Ethics Committee shall be destroyed after three (3) years from the dismissal order. 

When the Ethics Committee is of the opinion that there are reasonable grounds to believe the member has acted unethically, and a satisfactory alternative dispute resolution cannot be reached, the committee shall order the member to cease and desist the unethical conduct with or without the imposition of any sanction(s).  The Ethics Committee also may

  1. caution the member with or without recommendations for corrective action;
  2. issue a time-limited reprimand with or without recommendations for corrective action; or
  3. refer the complaint to a three member Adjudication Panel.

Where the complaint is referred to a three member Adjudication Panel, the Ethics Committee may, at any time before a final determination by the Adjudication Panel, require the member to accept a limitation on his or her practice, accept supervision, or impose other limitations deemed reasonable and appropriate under the circumstances.

The Ethics Committee shall provide written notification of the reasons for its decision(s) to both the complainant and the member.

D. Adjudication Panel  The CCPA President or his/her designate will appoint five (5) CCPA members to serve as members on the Adjudication Panel. 

  1. Of the five CCPA members first appointed to serve on the Adjudication Panel, three (3) members will be appointed for a period of two (2) years and two (2) members for a period of one (1) year.  All subsequent appointments will be for a period of two (2) years.
  2. Notwithstanding the expiry of his or her term, a member appointed to serve on the Adjudication Panel continues to be a member until he or she is reappointed or a replacement is appointed.
  3. Persons appointed to serve on the Adjudication Panel may be reappointed.
  4. For the purpose of dealing with a complaint referred to it by the CCPA Ethics Committee, an Adjudication Panel will be constituted by any three (3) members of the Panel.
  5. The Adjudication Panel shall select its Chairperson.

When a complaint is referred to the Adjudication Panel a hearing shall be held within sixty (60) calendar days of referral.  The commencement of the hearing may be adjourned beyond sixty (60) calendar days by order of the Adjudication Panel on the reasonable request of one or both parties.

The members of the Adjudication Panel shall be provided copies of the complaint, the response of the member, and any relevant documentation obtained by the Ethics Committee in the processing of the complaint.

Where a member complained against pleads guilty to one or more of the charges set out in the complaint, the Adjudication Panel shall, without calling evidence or hearing witnesses, unless the tribunal believes it is appropriate to do so, hear submissions on disposition and/or resolution options from the complainant and the member.

The hearing shall be conducted by way of teleconference. The parties to the hearing shall be the complainant and the member complained against. Neither the member nor the complainant will be entitled to legal representation before the Adjudication Panel, however each will be entitled to have a support person and witnesses present who may, where appropriate, speak on their behalf.  The hearing will normally follow this sequence:

  1. the complainant presents an oral summary of the complaint;
  2. the member  presents an oral  summary of his or her response;
  3. the complainant is given the opportunity to present evidence by way of the presentation of documents and/or witnesses;
  4. the member is given the opportunity to ask questions of the complainant and/or the complainant’s witnesses;
  5. the member is given the opportunity to present evidence by way of the presentation of documents and/or witnesses;
  6. the complainant is given the opportunity to ask questions of the member and/or the member’s witnesses;
  7. the complainant, followed by the member, is given the opportunity to summarize his/her positions on the evidence as well as submissions on the disposition and/or resolution options.

Where a member complained against pleads guilty to the charges set out in the complaint, the Adjudication Panel shall, without calling evidence or hearing witnesses, unless the Panel believes it is appropriate to do so, hear submissions on disposition and/or resolution options from the complainant and the member.

Within thirty (30) calendar days following the completion of hearing, the Adjudication Panel shall decide whether or not a member's conduct is unethical and dispose of the matter in accordance with paragraph E. Disposition and/or Resolution Options.  The Adjudication Panel shall forward a written copy of its decision to both the complainant and the member and shall file the original decision, along with all documentary exhibits presented during the hearing, with the CCPA National Office.

E. Disposition and/or Resolution Options

Where an Adjudication Panel is of the opinion there are no reasonable grounds to believe a member has acted unethically, it shall dismiss the complaint and give notice in writing of the dismissal to the complainant, the member, and the Chair of the Ethics Committee.

Where an Adjudication Panel is of the opinion that  a member's conduct is unethical the Adjudication Panel shall notify the member and the complainant of this determination and order the member to cease and desist the unethical conduct with or without the imposition of sanction.

Should the Adjudication Panel determine that the member’s conduct is deserving of sanction, the Adjudication Panel may

1.         reprimand the member;

2.         recommend or order corrective action;

3.         order that the member be placed on probation until fulfillment of  conditions that may require the member to undertake one or more of the following:

(a)        make restitution to the complainant or other persons affected by the conduct of the member;

(b)        obtain appropriate treatment (e.g., mental health and/or medical)

            i) participate in substance abuse treatment, until such time as the member can demonstrate to the Adjudication Panel that substance abuse no longer impairs their ability to engage in competent and ethical practice;

(d)       successfully complete a continuing education program;

(e)        submit to restriction of the member's counselling practice or  agree to practice under certain conditions, such as supervision;

(f)        cooperate with conditions imposed that are just and reasonable under the circumstances;

(g)        report on compliance with the condition(s) and  authorize treatment providers or supervisors to submit reports.

4.         order that the member’s membership in the CCPA and/or certification be suspended for a fixed period, or until conditions which it may impose are fulfilled, or until further order of the Adjudication Panel; and

5.         order that the member surrender his or her membership in the CCPA and/or certificate permanently.

Subject to successful appeal, in the event the Adjudication Panel is of the opinion that the member’s conduct is deserving of sanction, the Adjudication Panel’s decision, and all documents filed before the Panel and/or the Ethics Committee in relation to the complaint shall be kept on file at the CCPA National Office for a period of a minimum of five (5) years.

F. Appeal Procedures

Decisions of the CCPA Ethics Committee or Adjudication Panel may be appealed within sixty (60) days by the member or complainant.

Appeals shall be heard by a three (3) member Appeals Committee composed of the CCPA President, the CCPA President-Elect and the Past-President of CCPA or his/her designate.

The request and details of the grounds for an appeal must be submitted in writing..    

Grounds for appeal are limited to the following:

  1. an error in fact on the face of the record which would affect the outcome;
  2. an error in interpretation and/or application of the CCPA Code of Ethics and/or the CCPA Standards of Practice for Counsellors which would affect the outcome; and
  3. a failure to provide due process.

Appeals shall be on the record of the proceedings as before the Ethics Committee or Adjudication Panel whose decision is being appealed.   The Appeals Committee may, , at its discretion, interview the member complained against and the complainant before rendering its decision.

The Appeals Committee shall render a written decision that is forwarded to  the CCPA National Office within sixty (60) calendar days of receipt of the request for appeal.  Copies of this decision will be forwarded to the complainant and the member.  In reaching its decision, the Appeals Committee shall either:

  1. support the decision of the CCPA Ethics Committee or Adjudication Panel;
  2. reverse the decision of the CCPA Ethics Committee or Adjudication Panel; impose a different disposition or resolution.

A decision of the Appeals Committee is  conclusive and is not open to question or review in a court of law. It shall not be restrained by injunction, prohibition or other process or proceedings in a court of law nor be removable by certiorari[2] or otherwise in a court of law.

G. Procedures for Submitting and Interpreting Questions of Ethical Conduct

Whenever possible, the questioner is advised to first consult with other colleagues when seeking an explanation or interpretation of the CCPA Code of Ethics and/or Standards of Practice for Counsellors and/or its application to a particular circumstance.

If a national level response is deemed warranted, the questioner shall prepare and forward to the CCPA National Office a written inquiry detailing the matter in question.  The inquiry is forwarded to the Ethics Committee for review.   Ethics Committee will develop a response to the question and, if requested by the questioner, make recommendations for appropriate conduct.

The inquiry will be directed to the Ethics Committeee for review and response.


[1] The terms “counselling” and “counsellor” are used consistently as a  general, umbrella terms to describe the breadth and depth of more specific titles and actions used across Canada. Counselling reflects a variety of specific counselling-related titles such as counselling therapist, psychotherapist, mental health therapist, clinical counsellor, career counsellor, conseiller d’orientation, and guidance counsellor, and many more.

[2] A formal request to a court challenging a legal decision of an administrative tribunal, judicial office or organization (e.g. government) alleging that the decision has been irregular or incomplete or if there has been an error of law.

Procédures de plaintes

Procédures de l’ACCP pour le traitement des demandes et des plaintes

ayant trait à la déontologie

Approuvées par le Conseil d’administration de l’ACCP, le 24 mai 2003
Révisées par le Conseil d’administration de l’ACCP, le 27 novembre 2004
Révisées par le Conseil d’administration de l’ACCP, le 12 janvier 2006
Révisées par le Conseil d’administration de l’ACCP, le 4 novembre 2007
Révisées par le Conseil d'administration de l'ACCP, le 22 juillet 2011

 

Le présent document a pour but de faciliter le travail du Comité de déontologie en précisant la marche à suivre pour présenter et traiter les plaintes relatives à la déontologie déposées à l’encontre des membres de l’Association canadienne de counseling et de psychothérapie.

 

TABLE DES MATIÈRES

 

A. Le Comité de déontologie

L’Association canadienne de counseling et de psychothérapie (ACCP) préconise des pratiques de conduite professionnelle conformes à son Code de déontologie et à ses Normes de pratique pour les conseillers.[1]. En vertu de ses Règlements généraux, l’ACCP a mis en place un Comité de déontologie ayant pour tâche de gérer les plaintes formulées par des tiers, en plus de répondre aux questions portant sur des enjeux de déontologie et sur les normes de pratique.

B. Marche à suivre pour porter plainte

En cas d’insatisfaction à l’égard des pratiques ou du comportement d’un membre de l’ACCP, on peut porter plainte auprès du Comité de déontologie. Ce comité fera enquête, traitera et, si possible, réglera la plainte.  

Le Comité de déontologie n’interviendra que sur les plaintes formulées contre les personnes qui étaient membres en règle de l’ACCP au moment de l’infraction alléguée. Les plaintes peuvent être formulées par une personne du grand public qui a reçu des services de counseling et de psychothérapie de la part d’un membre de l’ACCP, par un autre membre de l’ACCP ou par le Comité de déontologie lui-même. 

Le plaignant est encouragé à communiquer directement avec le conseiller en cause pour discuter de la plainte et tenter de la régler, si la chose est faisable et qu’il est convenable de le faire. Si une entente n’est pas conclue à la suite d’un contact personnel avec le membre de l’ACCP, et dans les cas où il n’est ni faisable ni convenable d’avoir un tel contact, le plaignant préparera une déclaration écrite exposant en détail la nature de sa plainte. La déclaration écrite doit énoncer le nom du membre contre lequel la plainte est formulée, décrire les tentatives de règlement du litige et les détails concernant la conduite supposée contraire à la déontologie [y compris la ou les dates de l’infraction(s) alléguée(s)]. La déclaration écrite contenant la plainte devra porter la mention « confidentiel » et sera envoyée au Président du Comité de déontologie, à l’adresse suivante :

Comité de déontologie de l’ACCP

Association canadienne de counseling et de psychothérapie

114-223, Colonnade Rd S

Ottawa, ON

K2E 7K3

Le Comité de déontologie peut décider de ne pas entreprendre le traitement d'une plainte si l'objet de celle-ci est aussi en partie l'objet d'une enquête ou de procédures judiciaires. Si, après avoir entrepris de traiter une plainte, le Comité de déontologie apprend qu'elle est l’objet d’une enquête ou d’une procédure judiciaire, il peut décider d’en interrompre le traitement jusqu’à la conclusion de l'enquête ou de toute procédure s'y rapportant.

Une plainte doit être déposée dans les trois (3) ans suivant l’événement qui en constitue la matière. Les plaintes portant sur un objet de caractère continu ne seront pas traitées à moins qu’elles soient déposées dans les trois (3) ans suivant la plus récente allégation d’inconduite.   Dans les cas où l’objet de la plainte fait aussi partie de l'objet d'une enquête ou d'une procédure judiciaire en cours, l'échéancier fixé pour le dépôt de la plainte commencera après la conclusion de l'enquête judiciaire ou de toute autre procédure judiciaire s'y rapportant.  

Si le président du Comité de déontologie est mis au courant de ce qu’un membre a été (1) trouvé coupable d’une infraction au Code criminel ou d’une semblable loi pénale d’un autre pays ou (2) de ce qu’il a été suspendu par un organisme régissant un groupe professionnel dans une province ou un territoire du Canada ou d’un autre pays pour inconduite professionnelle, pour conduite ne convenant pas à un membre d’un groupe professionnel ou pour incompétence, le Comité de déontologie doit tenir compte de cette information comme si elle constituait une plainte.

Une fois la plainte reçue, le président du Comité de déontologie informera le plaignant de la façon dont l’ACCP traite les plaintes et fera parvenir une copie de la déclaration écrite du plaignant au membre visé par la plainte. Le président informera les autres membres du Comité de déontologie de la plainte dans les dix (10) jours ouvrables suivant sa réception.

L’objet de la plainte sera communiqué au plus petit nombre de personnes nécessaire pour en amorcer le traitement. Sous réserve des exigences de divulgation établies dans les présentes procédures, toute documentation déposée auprès de l’ACCP restera confidentielle.

 

C. Marche à suivre pour traiter les plaintes

L’ACCP n’étant pas régie par une loi, ses procédures de traitement des plaintes ne sont donc pas assujetties aux mêmes principes administratifs que celles qui sont établies par les instances législatives. L'ACCP s’est cependant engagée à suivre les procédures énoncées dans les présentes et à garantir que les plaintes seront traitées de façon équitable à l'égard de toutes les parties et de manière à tenir compte des contraintes géographiques et financières en cause.

Dans les dix (10) jours ouvrables suivant sa réception par l’ACCP (Siège social), la plainte, ainsi que la vérification du statut de membre de la personne visée par celle-ci, seront envoyées au Président du Comité de déontologie, qui déterminera si la plainte répond ou non aux critères de recevabilité.

S’il juge que la plainte n'est pas recevable, le Président rejette celle-ci et en avise par écrit le plaignant. 

S'il juge qu'il y a lieu de traiter la plainte, le Président du Comité de déontologie devra alors :

  1. informer par écrit le plaignant de sa décision et lui fournir un exemplaire des Procédures de l'ACCP pour traiter les plaintes d’infraction à la déontologie;
  2.  informer le membre de l’existence d’une plainte à son endroit et exiger une réponse écrite à la plainte dans les trente (30) jours civils suivants;
  3. informer les membres du Comité de déontologie au sujet de ce cas.

Le membre doit formuler sa réponse par écrit et la signer. Le défaut d'un membre de se conformer à une demande du Président de fournir une réponse peut constituer une conduite inconvenante de la part du membre et pourra être traité par le Comité de déontologie comme plainte distincte.

Dans les quatre-vingt-dix (90) jours civils suivant la réponse du membre à la plainte, le Comité de déontologie peut exercer un ou plusieurs des pouvoirs suivants :

  1. renvoyer la plainte au Président du Comité de déontologie pour qu’il fasse enquête et propose des possibilités de règlement du litige, sous réserve de l’approbation du comité;
  2. demander que le membre visé par la plainte et/ou le plaignant participent à une rencontre par téléconférence avec le Comité de déontologie afin de tenter de trouver un règlement qui convienne aux deux parties. 

Si les membres du Comité de déontologie sont d’avis qu’il n’existe pas de motif raisonnable de croire que le membre a enfreint le code de déontologie, ils rejetteront la plainte et en informeront par écrit le plaignant et le membre.   Sauf s’il y a eu appel fructueux, dans le cas du rejet d’une plainte, toute la documentation déposée auprès du Comité de déontologie sera détruite après trois (3) ans suivant la décision de rejet. 

Si les membres du Comité de déontologie sont d’avis qu’il existe des motifs raisonnables de croire que le membre a enfreint le code de déontologie et qu’il s’avère impossible d’en arriver à un règlement satisfaisant, ils ordonneront au membre de cesser ces agissements contraires à la déontologie, avec ou sans imposition de sanctions. Le Comité de déontologie peut aussi

  1. avertir le membre, avec ou sans recommandations de mesures correctives;
  2. imposer une réprimande à période limitée, en l’accompagnant ou non de recommandations de mesures correctives;
  3. renvoyer la plainte à un Comité d’arbitrage de trois membres.

Si la plainte est renvoyée à un Comité d’arbitrage de trois membres, le Comité de déontologie peut, à tout moment avant que la décision finale d'arbitrage n’ait été arrêtée, exiger du membre qu’il accepte de limiter sa pratique, de se soumettre à une supervision ou lui imposer d’autres contraintes jugées raisonnables dans les circonstances.

Le Comité de déontologie informera par écrit le plaignant et le membre des raisons qui fondent sa ou ses décisions.

D. Comité d’arbitrage  Le Président de l’ACCP ou son substitut désigné nommera cinq (5) membres de l’ACCP au Comité d’arbitrage. 

  1. Des cinq membres de l’ACCP initialement nommés au Comité d’arbitrage, trois (3) le seront pour une période de deux (2) ans et deux (2) membres, pour une période d’un (1) an. Toutes les nominations subséquentes seront pour des mandats de deux (2) ans.
  2. Nonobstant l’expiration de son mandat, un membre nommé au Comité d’arbitrage continuera d’être en poste jusqu’à ce qu’on renouvelle son mandat ou qu’on lui désigne un remplaçant.
  3. Le mandat des personnes nommées au Comité d’arbitrage est renouvelable.
  4. Aux fins de traiter une plainte qui lui est confiée par le Comité de déontologie de l’ACCP, le Comité d’arbitrage sera constitué de trois (3) des membres qui le constituent.
  5. Le Comité d’arbitrage choisira son Président.

Lorsqu’une plainte est renvoyée au Comité d’arbitrage, celui-ci doit tenir une audience dans les soixante (60) jours civils suivant ce renvoi. Le début de l’audience peut être reporté à plus de soixante (60) jours civils sur ordre du Comité d’arbitrage par suite d’une demande raisonnable de l’une des parties ou par les deux.

Les membres du Comité d’arbitrage recevront des copies de la plainte, de la réponse du membre et toute autre documentation pertinente obtenue par le Comité de déontologie au cours du traitement de la plainte.

Lorsqu'un membre visé par une plainte plaide coupable à un ou plusieurs des chefs d’accusation énoncés dans la plainte, le Comité d’arbitrage devra, sans exiger de preuves ni de témoignages, à moins que le tribunal ne le juge approprié, entendre les propositions concernant les possibilités de décision ou de règlement présentées par le plaignant et par le membre.

L’audience se tiendra sous forme de téléconférence. Les parties à l’audience seront le plaignant et le membre visé par la plainte. Lors d’une audience devant le Comité d’arbitrage, ni le membre ni le plaignant ne seront autorisés à se faire représenter par un avocat. Toutefois, chacun pourra demander l'appui d'une autre personne et de témoins, qui pourront, s'il y a lieu, s'exprimer en son nom. L’audience du Comité d’arbitrage se déroulera normalement dans l’ordre suivant :

  1. le plaignant résume verbalement le contenu de sa plainte;
  2. le membre résume verbalement sa réponse;
  3. on donne l’occasion au plaignant d'étayer sa preuve par le dépôt de documents et/ou par le recours à des témoins;
  4. on donne au membre l’occasion de poser des questions au plaignant et aux témoins de ce dernier;
  5. on donne l’occasion au membre d'étayer sa preuve par le dépôt de documents et/ou par le recours à des témoins;
  6. on donne au plaignant l’occasion de poser des questions au membre et aux témoins de ce dernier;
  7. le plaignant, puis le membre, ont chacun l’occasion de résumer leurs positions concernant la preuve, ainsi que de proposer des possibilités de décision ou de règlement du litige.

Lorsqu'un membre visé par une plainte plaide coupable aux chefs d’accusation énoncés dans la plainte, le Comité d’arbitrage devra, sans exiger de preuves ni de témoignages, à moins que le Comité ne le juge approprié, entendre les propositions concernant les possibilités de décision ou de règlement présentées par le plaignant et par le membre.

Dans les trente (30) jours civils suivant la fin de l’audience, le Comité d’arbitrage décidera si la conduite du membre était ou non contraire à la déontologie et rendra sa décision en la matière conformément aux dispositions du paragraphe E. Options de décision ou de règlement. Le Comité d’arbitrage fera parvenir une copie de sa décision au plaignant ainsi qu’au membre et déposera la décision initiale, de même que toutes les pièces documentaires produites durant l'audience, auprès du Siège social de l'ACCP.

E. Options de décision ou de règlement

Si les membres du Comité d’arbitrage sont d’avis qu’il n’y a pas de motif raisonnable de croire qu’un membre a enfreint le code de déontologie, ils rejetteront la plainte et en informeront par écrit le plaignant, le membre et le Président du Comité de déontologie.

Si les membres du Comité d’arbitrage sont d’avis que la conduite d’un membre était contraire à la déontologie, ils en avisent le membre et le plaignant et ordonnent au membre de cesser ces agissements contraires à la déontologie, avec ou sans imposition de sanctions.

Si les membres du Comité d’arbitrage jugent que la conduite du membre mérite des sanctions, ils peuvent

1.         réprimander le membre;

2.         recommander ou imposer des mesures correctives;

3.         imposer au membre une période de probation jusqu’à ce que soient respectées certaines conditions obligeant le membre à accomplir l’une ou plusieurs des actions suivantes :

(a)        verser un dédommagement au plaignant ou autres personnes touchées par la conduite du membre;

(b)        obtenir un traitement approprié (p. ex. santé mentale ou médicale)

            i) participer à un traitement de désintoxication, jusqu’à ce que le membre puisse faire la preuve au Comité d’arbitrage que la toxicomanie n’est plus un facteur qui réduit sa capacité d’assurer une pratique compétente et éthique;

(d)       réussir un programme d’éducation permanente;

(e)        restreindre la pratique de counseling du membre ou lui permettre de continuer sa pratique à certaines conditions, par exemple, sous supervision;

(f)        collaborer eu égard aux conditions imposées qui sont justes et raisonnables dans les circonstances;

(g)        faire rapport quant au respect des conditions et autoriser les fournisseurs de soins ou les superviseurs à produire des rapports.

4.         ordonner la suspension de l’adhésion et/ou de la certification du membre pour une période déterminée ou jusqu’à ce que les conditions imposées soient remplies ou jusqu’à nouvel ordre de la part du Comité d’arbitrage;

5.         ordonner que le membre renonce en permanence à son statut de membre de l’ACCP et/ou à sa certification.

Sauf s’il y a eu appel fructueux, dans le cas où les membres du Comité d’arbitrage sont d’avis que la conduite du membre mérite des sanctions, leur décision et tous les documents déposés auprès d’eux et/ou auprès du Comité de déontologie concernant la plainte seront archivés au Siège social de l’ACCP pour au moins cinq (5) ans.

 

F. Marche à suivre pour se pourvoir en appel

Le membre ou le plaignant peut en appeler des décisions du Comité de déontologie de l’ACCP ou du Comité d’arbitrage dans les soixante (60) jours.

Les appels seront entendus par un Comité d’appels composé de trois (3) membres, à savoir le Président de l’ACCP, le Président élu et le Président sortant ou leur remplaçant désigné.

La demande de pourvoi en appel et le détail des motifs à l’appui devront être soumis par écrit.   

Les motifs d’appel se limitent à ce qui suit :

  1. une erreur de fait qui, manifestement à la lecture du dossier, aurait une incidence sur le résultat;
  2. une erreur d’interprétation ou d’application du Code de déontologie de l’ACCP et/ou des Normes de pratique pour les conseillers de l’ACCP et qui aurait une incidence sur le résultat;
  3. un vice de procédure.

Les appels porteront sur le compte rendu des audiences devant le Comité de déontologie ou le Comité d’arbitrage dont la décision est visée par l’appel.   Avant de rendre sa décision, le Comité d’appels peut, à sa guise, interviewer le membre visé par la plainte et le plaignant.

Le Comité d’appels rendra une décision écrite qui sera ensuite transmise au Siège social de l’ACCP dans les soixante (60) jours civils suivant la réception de la demande de pourvoi en appel. Des copies de la décision seront transmises au plaignant et au membre. Dans sa décision, le Comité d’appels devra trancher de l’une ou l’autre des façons suivantes :

  1. maintien de la décision du Comité de déontologie ou du Comité d’arbitrage de l’ACCP;
  2. renversement de la décision du Comité de déontologie ou du Comité d’arbitrage et imposition d’une décision ou d’un règlement différent.

La décision du Comité d’appels est irrévocable et ne peut pas être contestée devant les tribunaux. Elle ne pourra pas être restreinte par une injonction, un interdit ou une autre procédure judiciaire ni être révoquée par certiorari[2] ni autrement devant un tribunal.

G. Marche à suivre pour soumettre et interpréter des questions d’inconduite

On conseille d’abord à l’auteur de la question de consulter si possible d’autres collègues dans sa recherche d’une explication ou d’une interprétation du Code de déontologie ou des Normes de pratique pour les conseillers de l’ACCP, ou de leur application à un cas particulier.

Si l’on considère qu’il y a lieu d’obtenir une réponse à l’échelle nationale, l’auteur de la question doit alors préparer une demande écrite adressée au Siège social de l’ACCP et dans laquelle la question en cause est expliquée en détail. La demande est transmise au Comité de déontologie pour qu’il l’examine. Le Comité de déontologie de l’ACCP élaborera une réponse à la question et, si l’auteur de la question le demande, recommandera une conduite appropriée.

La demande sera acheminée au Comité de déontologie pour qu’il l’examine et y réponde.


[1] Les termes « counseling » et « conseiller » sont partout utilisés comme termes génériques pour décrire la diversité et la profondeur de titres et d’interventions plus particuliers en usage dans l'ensemble du Canada. Le terme counseling recouvre une diversité de titres spécifiquement liés au counseling, comme conseiller-thérapeute, psychothérapeute, thérapeute en santé mentale, conseiller clinicien, conseiller de perfectionnement professionnel, conseiller d’orientation, et bien d’autres.

[2] Recours officiel à un tribunal dans le but de contester la décision légale rendue par un tribunal administratif, une fonction judiciaire ou un autre organisme (p. ex. le gouvernement) en alléguant que la décision rendue était irrégulière, incomplète ou entachée d’une erreur de droit.