Glossary

Glossary

Here you will find definitions for many of the most regularly used terms associated with counselling/psychotherapy.

A

Accreditation implies the setting of minimal standards which training programs must meet. In order to become accredited, a counsellor education program must fulfill certain requirements or standards with regard to institutional settings, program mission and objectives, program content, practicum experiences, student selection and advising, faculty qualifications and workload, program governance, instructional support, and self-evaluation.

Establishing the client’s condition at the beginning of and throughout the therapeutic relationship.

B

The initial set up of the therapist/client relationship so that each party is clear of their role within the therapy sessions, and the professional limits that are created.

C

Certification implies recognition that individuals have met minimal professional standards to practice independently as a counsellor. In order to be certified, counsellors must meet certain levels of education and training in counselling, they must follow the code of ethics, and they are held accountable to show competent and ethical performance in practice. Certification is different from regulation. Registered counsellors have met the requirements to be members of a provincial regulatory college in Canada. Canadian Certified Counsellor (CCC) certification represents a successful evaluation of a member's qualification to practice.

The person who makes the appointment to see the therapist.

The CCPA Code of Ethics serves as a guide to the professional conduct of all of its members. A full copy of the Code of Ethics can be found at http://www.ccpa-accp.ca/_documents/CodeofEthics_en_new.pdf

A commitment is required from the client for the hard work and emotional or psychic pain that can be involved in  working through of issues. Appointments need to be kept and time keeping is important. Therapists will also make a commitment to ensure and maintain their practices.

All discussions that take place between a therapist and a client are treated with respect and discretion. An agreement is usually made during the first session about confidentiality. If exceptional circumstances arise, where there is a need to involve someone else, your consent should be sought for a change in this agreement.

Often referred to as "informed consent", this refers to permission that is freely given by the client to the therapist.

The contract is the initial agreement between the client and the therapist. Practical considerations that need to be confirmed include: appointment time, location, cost of session and duration of appointment. A written contract is the best idea, because you can go back and look it over if situations arise in the sessions that you are unsure of. You should feel free to ask questions about the therapist’s professional background.

Counselling and psychotherapy are umbrella terms that cover a range of therapies. They are delivered by trained practitioners who work with people over a short or long term to help them bring about effective change, and to stabilize or enhance their wellbeing.

D

The sharing of information by the client to the therapist. Under specific circumstances, a therapist may need to disclose information to another, but this would be discussed at the beginning of the sessions. In most situations, your permission will be sought before this happens.

Distance learning is training that has been completed online, by phone or by mail.

E

Employee Assistance Programmes (EAPs) provide therapy and other services to employees of organizations. Some are delivered in house, while others are offered by outside agencies. Most offer time limited therapy.

The ‘ending’ refers to the final part of any course of therapy which can occur for many reasons. It is often referred to as the "termination" process. Usually, the specific problem that the client came to therapy for has been resolved. Whatever the reasons for finishing therapy, a proper ending is very important to bring the therapeutic relationship to a satisfactory close.

The summative assessment of the therapy, carried out by the therapist. Many therapists ask for feedback from clients on how they have found the process.

G

Therapy  conducted in a group setting, which can also be referred to as group therapy.

L

A life coach works to solve problems and promote life skills, rather than deliver therapy. Whereas some therapy techniques may be non-directive, a life coach can help a person direct their life.

Some forms of therapy do not have a specific end date. In these instances, a client would see their therapist until a conclusion is reached, no matter how long that takes.

M

Mental wellbeing enables an individual to develop their potential, work productively and creatively, build strong and positive relationships with others, and contribute to their community.

This is another term used to describe the different theoretical approaches to therapy / types of therapy.

O

A session between one client and one therapist. This term implies that you are meeting face to face.

The provision of contracted counselling over the internet. Sessions are conducted via email, forums (both synchronous and asynchronous), chat rooms/instant messaging, Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP – online telephone services) or some practitioners use webcams so that the client and therapist can see each other during the session. This format of therapy can be beneficial for some clients, especially those who have difficulty in accessing traditional face-to-face services or who would prefer not to use them.

P

Trainee therapists offer their services voluntarily in return for gaining experience in a therapeutic environment. Clients should be made aware if they are being counselled by a trainee on a placement, however in this situation a therapist should be supervised by a more experienced therapist.

A branch of medicine that treats disorders of the mind. A psychiatrist is medically trained (a fully qualified medical doctor) and can treat and prescribe medication for a range of mental health issues.

The study of mind and behaviour.

R

The notes a therapist keeps as a record of the sessions. These are usually short factual records of the session that has just taken place and can be used as a memory aid for future sessions.

A potential client can be referred (sent) to a therapist by their doctor. Alternatively, people can refer themselves to therapy if they decide they want to see a private therapist. From time to time, a therapist may suggest a referral to a client.

S

Short term therapy is usually for a specific problem that may only take a few sessions to address. In a few situations one session may be sufficient.

The CCPA Standards of Practice provide direction and guidelines to enable therapists  to conduct themselves in a professional manner consistent with the CCPA Code of Ethics. A copy can be found at http://www.ccpa-accp.ca/en/standardsofpractice/.

Supervision is also known as consultative support and is a confidential process undertaken on a regular basis, which allows therapists to discuss their client work with someone else who is experienced in therapy and bound by the same rules of confidentiality. Supervision is designed to maintain adequate standards of therapy to protect and ensure the best interests of clients.

T

Therapy  that takes place over the phone between a client and therapist.

The relationship between the therapist and the client.

The act of being in counselling or psychotherapy.

This refers to therapy that is designed to last for a specific length of time. This would be contracted for at the beginning of the sessions. Time limited therapy often refers to Solution-focused Therapy and Brief Therapy.

Glossaire

Glossaire

Vous trouverez ici les définitions de nombreux termes les plus usités en counseling et psychothérapie.

A

L’accréditation consiste à fixer des normes minimales auxquelles doivent se conformer les programmes de formation. Pour obtenir son accréditation, un programme de formation en counseling doit être conforme à certaines exigences ou normes en ce qui concerne les installations de l’établissement, la mission, les objectifs et le contenu du programme, les expériences de stages, la sélection et l’encadrement des étudiants, les qualifications et la charge de travail du personnel enseignant, la gouvernance des programmes, le soutien didactique et l’auto-évaluation.

É

Détermination de l’état du client au début et tout au cours de la relation thérapeutique.

Évaluation sommative de la thérapie, effectuée par le thérapeute. Bien des thérapeutes demandent aux clients de commenter la façon dont ils ont perçu la démarche.

B

Le bien-être mental permet aux personnes de développer leur potentiel, de travailler de façon productive et créative, d'établir des relations solides et positives avec les autres et de contribuer à leur collectivité.

C

La certification consiste à reconnaître que des personnes se sont conformées à des normes professionnelles minimales les rendant aptes à pratiquer le counseling de façon autonome. Pour être certifiés (agréés), les conseillers doivent avoir atteint certains niveaux de scolarité et de formation; ils doivent se conformer au code de déontologie et il leur incombe de faire montre de compétence et d’éthique dans leur pratique. La certification diffère de la réglementation. Les conseillers inscrits ont satisfait aux exigences d’agrément imposées par un ordre professionnel réglementaire au Canada. La certification de Conseiller canadien certifié (CCC) confirme l’évaluation satisfaisante de la qualification professionnelle d’un membre.

Personne qui prend rendez-vous afin de consulter le thérapeute.

Le Code de déontologie de l’ACCP sert de guide de conduite professionnelle à tous les membres de l’organisme. On trouve un exemplaire complet du Code de déontologie à l’adresse http://www.ccpa-accp.ca/_documents/CodeofEthics_fr_new.pdf

La « conclusion » désigne la fin de la démarche de thérapie, qui peut survenir pour diverses raisons. On parle également de « fin » de la démarche. En règle générale, on est parvenu à résoudre le problème précis ayant amené le client vers la thérapie. Quelles que soient les raisons de terminer la thérapie, il est très important de conclure de façon adéquate afin de mener la relation thérapeutique à une fin satisfaisante.

Toutes les discussions entre un thérapeute et un client sont traitées avec respect et discrétion. La confidentialité est habituellement l’objet d’une entente lors de la première séance. S’il survient des circonstances exceptionnelles nécessitant l’intervention d’un tiers, on devra vous demander si vous consentez à ce que soit modifiée l’entente initiale.

Souvent désigné par le terme « consentement éclairé », il s'agit de la permission accordée librement par le client au thérapeute.

Le contrat est l’entente initiale convenue entre le client et le thérapeute. Parmi les considérations pratiques à confirmer, citons : l’heure des rendez-vous, le lieu, le coût des séances et la durée des rendez-vous. Un contrat écrit est souhaitable, car on peut y revenir et le consulter s’il survient des situations difficiles à trancher au cours des séances. Vous devez vous sentir très à l’aise de poser des questions concernant les antécédents professionnels du thérapeute.

Thérapie se déroulant en contexte de groupe, que l’on appelle aussi la thérapie de groupe.

La thérapie à court terme porte habituellement sur un problème particulier qui peut être traité en quelques séances seulement. Dans certains cas, une seule séance peut suffire.

Certaines formes de thérapie ne comportent pas de date de conclusion précise. Le cas échéant, le client peut rencontrer son thérapeute jusqu’à ce qu’on en vienne à une conclusion, peu importe la durée de la démarche.

Prestation de services contractuels de counseling par internet. Les séances se déroulent par courriel, sur des forums (aussi bien en direct qu’en différé), dans des salons de clavardage, par messagerie instantanée, par transmission du signal vocal VoIP sur le web (services téléphoniques en ligne); certains praticiens utilisent des webcaméras pour pouvoir voir le client au cours de la séance. Cette forme de thérapie peut s’avérer bénéfique pour certains clients, surtout ceux qui ont de la difficulté à avoir accès aux services traditionnels en tête à tête ou qui préfèrent ne pas y avoir recours.

Séance qui se déroule en présence du thérapeute et de son client. Ce terme désigne des rencontres en personne.

Counseling et psychothérapie sont des termes génériques qui recouvrent une vaste gamme de thérapies. Ce sont des services rendus par un praticien ayant reçu une formation et qui travaille avec des personnes à court ou à long terme afin de les aider à faire survenir un changement efficace, ainsi qu’à stabiliser ou à améliorer leur bien-être.

Thérapie qui s’effectue par téléphone entre le client et le thérapeute.

D

Le fait pour le client de partager ses renseignements avec le thérapeute. Dans des circonstances particulières, le thérapeute peut devoir divulguer de l’information à un tiers, mais le cas échéant, il faudrait que ce soit discuté au début des séances. Dans la plupart des situations, il faudrait d’abord obtenir votre permission.

Notes que conserve le thérapeute au sujet des séances. Il s’agit habituellement de brèves notes factuelles au sujet de la séance qui vient de se dérouler et elles servent d’aide-mémoire pour les séances à venir.

Ce terme désigne une thérapie qui est conçue pour durer un temps limité. Cet aspect devrait être l’objet d’une entente au début des séances. La thérapie à durée limitée renvoie souvent à la thérapie centrée sur la solution et à la thérapie brève.

E

On demande un engagement de la part du client eu égard au travail ardu et à la souffrance affective ou psychique que peut comporter la démarche de résolution des problèmes. Il faut respecter les rendez-vous et le chronométrage est important. Les thérapeutes s’engageront aussi à assurer et à maintenir leurs pratiques.

F

La formation à distance désigne l’apprentissage effectué en ligne, au téléphone ou par courriel.

L

Aménagement initial de la relation thérapeute-client, afin que chacun connaisse bien son rôle dans le cadre des séances de thérapie, ainsi que les limites professionnelles mises en place.

M

Un mentor personnel est celui qui travaille à résoudre des problèmes et suscite des habiletés de vie, plutôt que de pratiquer la thérapie. Bien que certains types de thérapie ne soient pas directifs, le mentor personnel peut aider la personne à orienter sa vie.

Autre terme servant à désigner les différentes approches théoriques de la thérapie (types de thérapie).

N

Les Normes d’exercice (ou de pratique) de l’ACCP fournissent des lignes directrices permettant aux thérapeutes de se comporter de manière professionnelle et conforme au Code de déontologie de l’ACCP. On en trouve un exemplaire à l’adresse http://www.ccpa-accp.ca/fr/standardsofpractice/.

O

Un client potentiel peut être orienté (dirigé) vers un thérapeute par son médecin. Par contre, certaines personnes peuvent s’orienter d’elles-mêmes vers la thérapie si elles décident de consulter un thérapeute en cabinet privé. Il peut aussi arriver qu’un thérapeute oriente son client vers d’autres ressources.

P

Les Programmes d’aide aux employés (PAE) offrent de la thérapie et autres services aux employés d’une organisation. La prestation de ces services s’effectue soit à l’interne, soit dans des cabinets externes. Dans la plupart des cas, il s’agit d’une thérapie à durée limitée.

Branche de la médecine qui traite les désordres de l’esprit. Le psychiatre a reçu une formation complète en médecine et peut traiter une vaste gamme de problèmes de santé mentale et prescrire des médicaments en conséquence.

Étude de l’esprit et du comportement.

R

Relation entre le thérapeute et le client.

S

Les thérapeutes stagiaires offrent des services bénévoles afin d’acquérir de l’expérience en contexte thérapeutique. Le client doit être mis au courant s’il reçoit les services d’un conseiller en stage pratique; cependant, en pareille situation, le thérapeute doit être supervisé par un collègue ayant plus d'expérience.

La supervision est une forme d’appui consultatif, une démarche confidentielle entreprise sur une base régulière et qui permet aux thérapeutes de discuter de leur travail auprès des clients avec une autre personne qui a de l’expérience en thérapie et qui est assujettie aux mêmes règles de confidentialité. La supervision est destinée à maintenir des normes adéquates de thérapie afin de protéger et de garantir l’intérêt des clients.

T

Action qui consiste à recevoir des services de counseling ou de psychothérapie.