Cost


Do I have to pay?

Regardless of where you go for therapy, your therapist should explain details related to costs and payment plans prior to beginning your first session. Some therapists have a sliding payment scale based on your ability to pay. Others have a single fee schedule. Still others have a fee schedule that is based on the type of therapeutic service you are seeking.

Generally speaking, the following is true:

If you access therapy through a referral from your family doctor or general practitioner your government medical plan may pay the costs.

If you access therapy through the workplace you may have a benefit plan that covers therapy.,

If you access therapy at a school, institution, or a voluntary / charitable organization, this will often be free of charge. Private therapists will usually charge for their services. These services may be covered under your health benefits plan from your employer.

 You should always check payment facts before starting therapy.

 

How much does it cost?

Where payment is required, prices can range between $60 and $150 per 50-minute session, depending on where you live and the type of therapy being sought. Some therapists adjust their fees according to your income. Some charitable organizations offer therapy for free or for a small donation which is suitable to your income.

Coût


Dois-je payer?

Peu importe où vous suivez votre thérapie, votre thérapeute devrait vous expliquer en détail les coûts et les modalités de paiement avant d’entreprendre la première séance. Certains thérapeutes appliquent une échelle mobile pour le paiement, en fonction de votre capacité de payer. D’autres pratiquent un barème de tarifs unique. D’autres encore ont un barème de tarifs fondé sur le type de services thérapeutiques que vous recherchez.

En règle générale, on applique ce qui suit :

Si vous suivez une thérapie après y avoir été orienté par votre médecin de famille ou un omnipraticien, il se peut que votre régime gouvernemental d’assurance-maladie couvre les coûts;

Si vous suivez une thérapie par l’entremise de votre milieu de travail, il se peut que votre régime d'avantages sociaux couvre les coûts de la thérapie;

Si vous suivez une thérapie à l’école, dans un établissement ou un organisme de bénévolat ou caritatif, le service est souvent gratuit. Les thérapeutes en pratique privée facturent habituellement leurs services. Il se peut que le régime d’avantages sociaux offert par votre employeur couvre les services thérapeutiques.

 Vous devriez toujours vérifier les modalités de paiement avant d’entreprendre la thérapie.

 

Combien cela coûte-t-il?

Lorsque les services sont payables, les tarifs sont compris entre 60 $ et 150 $ par séance de 50 minutes, selon l’endroit où vous habitez et le type de thérapie que vous recherchez. Certains thérapeutes adaptent leurs honoraires en fonction de votre revenu. Certains organismes caritatifs offrent des services de thérapie gratuitement ou contre un petit don adapté à votre revenu.